A Week of My Life – Day 1 Monday

Both my sisters Jan, Jo (plus Jan’s friend Heri) and I will be posting daily  ‘A week of my life’ blogs for the entire week. Please visit their blogs (see my blog links on the right sidebar) and leave comments for their posts, we all love comments, the more the better!

Monday morning started as usual, shivering in the wind at the bus stop outside my house. Luckily I bought new tights to wear with my office skirt. Hooray for tights and stockings!

It was a good thing Jan reminded of our blogging project the night before because I almost forgot to bring my camera to work. I placed it in my workbag before going to bed but ended up forgetting to bring my mobile to work *slap forehead*. My bag was soo heavy today because I had to bring in all the work stuff from Alice Springs plus the laptop.

Waiting to cross the lights at the corner of St. Georges Terrace and William Street (the terrace is our CBD). Every morning I stand with the crowd and pretend that I’m a mature working adult, but really I’m listening to my Chinese pop songs on my ipod, staring at the blue sky and thinking up new excuses to call in sick.

Reaching my workplace, can you guess which is my office building? Rumour is we’re moving soon, we’ve been promised wide open spaces and river views. If that does happen, I’ll remember to blog about it.

I’ve been teased about the never diminishing supply of apples on my desk (funnily enough apple girl was also one of my nicknames in high school). I like crunching on apples when I’m feeling peckish or lack energy, I also share my apples with starving colleagues.

I received another present from a colleague! This time it was from the colleague who I helped at Alice Springs, she wanted to thank me for my assistance at the conference. So nice (^___^). Jan and Jo, did you all notice the lizard on the packaging, she bought the present from a store called Leaping Lizards, so scary (my sisters and I have a lizard phobia)!

Inside was a postcard of Ayers Rock with a lovely thank you message. My colleague  knew that I had been trying to take a picture of Ayers on the plane. Haha, so now I have the fridge magnet AND the postcard.

She got me a beautiful sandpot! I really really like it because it reminds me of the colours of Alice Springs and the gorgeous desert landscape. Very very pretty.

Lunchtime! Reading James Herriot again, in case you think I’m James Herriot obsessed (which I admit I am a bit lah) I’m re-reading the entire series and his books are great in that they’re spilt into little stories so I read a couple of stories every lunch.

Lunch was stir-fried Korean sweet potato vermicelli with chicken, beancurd, peanuts and cabbage strips in sukiyaki sauce. It’s been a while since I’ve had a hot lunch so I enjoyed it.

Time to go home, the sun is going down. My bus doesn’t stop outside my house but instead stops at the suburb center.

I stop at the supermarket and the fruit and veg shop almost every day to buy daily groceries. For some reason I don’t really bulk buy my groceries instead opting to buy my ingredients daily and planning my dinner/lunches depending on what’s available.

Today asparagus was cheap so I bought a bunch. Dinner was grilled chicken (seasoned with salt, pepper, dried rosemary and a dash of white wine), grilled tomatoes and asparagus. I still have half a bunch of asparagus left over so will have to think what to cook with it tomorrow.

End of Day 1. More tomorrow!

15 Responses to “A Week of My Life – Day 1 Monday”


  1. 1 slappedbygunk June 15, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    Your building must be the one right ahead on the left right? Otherwise you’d have crossed the road already.

    I nearly died when I saw the lizard on the packaging! Yucks. But it’s really nice of your colleague to get you something though. Although, what is a sandpot?

    God, your dinner’s so healthy. I had maggi assam laksa (-__-) But I put some vegetable in it so I guess it’s not THAT unhealthy? Haha.

    • 2 daitaoha June 16, 2009 at 1:55 pm

      Correct! Very clever. I’m also not sure what’s a sandpot, I think it’s just a piece of pottery made of different types of clay/sand, hence the different colour effects. Hey at least your dinner tomorrow will be very healthy, your soup looked very nice.

  2. 3 mum June 16, 2009 at 1:31 am

    Hi Di, I’ve just come from Jan’s links. haha. Very interesting to read about your daily life. Are you going to use that ‘lizard’ gift? Or do you have such a great phobia of lizards that even the look of it on something will put you off? Like how durian is to Hadwin? Btw,showed Pa your Alice Springs post and he was beaming from ear to ear, especially about the aeroplane food. He said, grown up already. haha.

    • 4 daitaoha June 16, 2009 at 1:54 pm

      Hi Ah ma, I want to use the sandpot, especially since it doesn’t have lizard figures on it, but I don’t know what to do with it. Should have left it at the office to store my apples. Ah pa is so funny, grown up a long time ago lah.

  3. 5 sakuratrees June 16, 2009 at 2:06 am

    Wah Jan, you so kiang! Can tell which one is Di’s office! Hehehe!

    Last night I saw the packaging with Di’s present on the living room’s table and I picked up the packaging to keep it away and then I saw the lizard and almost died. I dropped it straightaway. Hehehe!

    You had maggie assam laksa again? I always prefer maggie curry or indo mee! Mmmmm…..maybe i will have one for lunch together with my lok lok. Yum!!!!!!!

  4. 7 rita :) June 16, 2009 at 9:42 am

    you’re so funny. i’m like you. soon as i get up in the AM, the first thing i think of is calling in. sometimes, i wish i’m independently wealthy. hee-hee.

    i would guess your building is the tallest one on the right, across the street? only because, it looks like you’re focusing more towards it. i do hope you get the views once your office moves. i would love to see the views. i miss my old office, back in the States. i had the view of the river, Georgetown and the national mall of DC (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Mall).

    • 8 daitaoha June 16, 2009 at 1:51 pm

      you have no idea, I have a ton of excuses thought up e.g. bad back, stomach flu… but still too chicken to call in sick.

  5. 9 rita :) June 16, 2009 at 9:43 am

    by the way, i’ll be sure to check out jo’s and your friends blogs.

  6. 10 Jaso style ltd June 16, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    Hey Di

    Thanks for the update on your life! Loved the photos u have taken off Alice Springs. I thought that gero was outback but Alice Springs looks more woop woop!

    Talking about asparagus in your blog- i was tempted to buy some and eat with my Salmon the other day but wasn’t sure how to cook it… Still not adventurous enough with my food!

    • 11 daitaoha June 16, 2009 at 1:50 pm

      Jas, what does woop woop mean? Asparagus very easy to cook, just grill them and lightly season at the end. Or do it Jamie Oliver style, can just wrap bacon around it then grill it that way, so you don’t even have to season it. Still waiting for you to come back and cook for us …

  7. 14 Her June 17, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    Hi Di..

    I think ur apple is such a good idea..i will try to put a few on my dining table to encourage David n I to eat apple as snack when we r hungry instead of salted nuts 🙂

    The sandpot so lovely…i like the care instruction..hahhaa…no cleaning instruction??

    And your dinner so yummy looking n healthy too…I must try making this in July.. 😉

    oh yah..can I link you in my blog 🙂 Thks..

    • 15 daitaoha June 18, 2009 at 12:38 pm

      I think nuts are healthy too, I heard almonds are very good, but I don’t like almonds, I like honey roasted macadamias, so bad but so good. Please link me, I’ll link you too!


Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Pages


