Red Earth

I’m flying off tomorrow, but I’m so tired!! I haven’t had time to look at the conference papers and will now have to read it on the plane, sigh. So much for my James Herriot indulgence.  The other day a 60 + old colleague stopped by my desk and said ‘I noticed you’re reading James Herriot, he’s one of my favourites too’ (= ^ ^ =) sigh, while everyone’s reading up and trendy authors like Dan Brown and the Twilight series, there I am reading old stories of a country vet and his veterinary adventures in Yorkshire. But I love him so much!

Today I was so busy doing last minute preparation for the conference that I forgot to eat lunch. Now I understand what my colleagues are going about when they start yelling ‘I’m so hungry’ while working. But I wasn’t hungry, just very very busy.

My sisters are all excited about my Northern Territory trip tomorrow, even started researching the conference venue and Alice Springs, Jo was like ‘Eh, there are lots of lizards and iguanas there!’ ‘Wild cats are a delicacy there, you will be eating wild cats!!’ Jan wasn’t any better, she greeted me on msn with ‘Hello Alice!’ Then proceeded to warn me not to go to the outback because she’s terrified of the outback after watching the horror movie WolfCreek. Jo has already invited Gill to hang out at my place watching dramas and eating pizza while I’m away, obviously she’s not going to miss me much. Sisters … *slap forehead*

Ok I’m finally going to eat my combination of breakfast, lunch and dinner, wish me luck at the Alice!

10 Responses to “Red Earth”


  1. 1 cynthia June 10, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    Have a safe and awesome trip! x

  2. 2 Mark June 10, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    You still read James Herriot? Are those that you’ve read over and over again? Or you found the missing collection? Good luck at Alice!!

  3. 3 rita :) June 13, 2009 at 9:57 am

    i, too, love the classic authors. anyhoodles, have a blast on your trip! good luck at the conference. looking forward to reading about it.

  4. 4 daitaoha June 13, 2009 at 11:48 am

    cynthia: i’m back! it was awesome 🙂

    Rita: it was fantastic, will blog about it soon.

  5. 5 slappedbygunk June 13, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    The Twilight books are crap. I’m still struggling through the 4th book my friend’s sister lent me. Unfortunately it’s going slow cos I only read it when I poo hohoho.

    Dan Brown’s writing is pretty bad as well, but at least he has quite good plots. The two books I read had quite good plots anyway.

    How about Jeeves? I think you might like Jeeves.

    • 6 daitaoha June 14, 2009 at 12:09 am

      Ya I have heard of Jeeves also, but don’t have time to go to the secondhand bookstores to have a look. I’ve only read Da Vinci Code which I like. But I hate Twilight too! I only made it to the second book, and I’m not even sure I finished that.

      • 7 slappedbygunk June 14, 2009 at 12:11 am

        Just feel like slapping all those characters in Twilight, ESP that irritating girl!!! That vampire guy is ugly as hell in the movie as well, I don’t get why he’s so popular, his features look like they’ve been squashed in the lower half of his pasty face.

        Jeeves is very very good, must read. Very old-school but the oldies are the goodies!

      • 8 daitaoha June 14, 2009 at 12:19 am

        I haven’t seen the movie, but I don’t think I will watch it. Maybe we don’t like Twilight because we’re old.

        Ok will look out for Jeeves.

      • 9 Jan June 14, 2009 at 1:31 pm

        Excuuuuuuuuuuuuse me about the “old”! D:

      • 10 daitaoha June 14, 2009 at 1:39 pm

        Ok ok, I’m the only old one.


Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Pages


