Sometimes you just need Sushi

Lunch bento yesterday was grilled ponzu fish salad. It was the last piece of basa fillet from my fridge (much to Jo’s delight I’m sure).

I marinated the fillet with ponzu sauce (citrus flavoured soy sauce) and a bit of mirin and served it on bed of shredded cabbage and apple strips.

Even though Jo said the fish was tasty, I could sense a faltering enthusiasm for our grilled fish repertoire, so I tried to ‘hide’ her fish with a sunny side up, not sure whether they went well together though. I figured since Jo’s favourite empek empek is fish cake with egg filling, this was an ’empek empek’ of some sort.

I am exhausted!!  I called Jo on the way home and said ‘Eh, I’m too tired to cook, let’s get some takeaway today’. I thought she would jump at the chance of eating her favourite fast food like McD’s etc. but to my surprise, she opted for Kabuki (the takeaway sushi place near my house) instead. What can I say? Sometimes you just need sushi for the tired soul.

Lunch bento tomorrow is chicken, avocado and mandarin orange salad.

I know I mentioned in the last post that I really like Thai food, but really, I am partial towards  Japanese cuisine , which also explains my penchant for cooking Japanese food. The other day I was watching Anthony Bourdain on Youtube and he asked all the chefs something along the lines of ‘what would be your last meal if it was your last day on Earth?’ I asked Jo the same question and she said ‘Japanese food! or … maybe Mum’s cooking’. My answer would probably be the same.

But I think Jo and I were cheating with our ‘Mum’s cooking’ answer, because my Ah Ma is a fantastic cook, and she can bake bread (so good straight out of the oven),  make dimsum (my dad likes her xiao long bao while I love her char siew bao) and whip up yummy dishes of all nationalities ranging from sambal prawns, fish and chips to authentic Nyonya cuisine.If only I could cook like my mum.

9 Responses to “Sometimes you just need Sushi”


  1. 1 Mark June 10, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    How come the photos so nice 1? Can change from food blog to photography blog liaw…hehehe…the food looks very nice!!!

  2. 2 slappedbygunk June 13, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    Ugh fish.

    I wish I could cook like Ah Ma too. Or cook like you also can, I’m just very bad at cooking.

    • 3 daitaoha June 14, 2009 at 12:08 am

      Eh you really don’t like fish hor? It’s actually quite nice really, next time you try with miso paste and mirin. Masks the fishy smell. You are good at cooking what, and baking as well!

      • 4 slappedbygunk June 14, 2009 at 12:18 am

        No forget it, I don’t like fish, I refuse.

        Not really, all my cooking/ baking are semi-failed.

      • 5 daitaoha June 14, 2009 at 12:26 am

        But your chi gae and baking etc. always looks great on your blog. I also remember that pork katsu on blue plates.

      • 6 slappedbygunk June 16, 2009 at 9:56 pm

        The other day I made tonkatsu but I failed because I thought I had egg but I didn’t. I went ahead anyway and all the coating fell off during frying D: Failure. But still tasted quite good though. Hungry, mai hiam lah hahaha.

      • 7 daitaoha June 17, 2009 at 11:51 am

        Oops. But at least the food tasted good. I hate deep frying anything, just don’t know whether to discard the leftover oil or what.

  3. 8 Jo June 14, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    I like fish now and I used to hate them. Aiyoh jan, you should just give the fish a chance. Hehehe!


Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Pages


