S & T Thai Gourmet Cafe

Not many people know this, but I actually really like Thai food. When Jo and I go home to Malaysia, our whole family loves going out for great Thai food in Kuching, I remember numerous birthday celebrations at Bangkok Thai and their must-order- in-advance mango chicken (so good) and the more recent favourite Pandan Delight at BDC. Their tom yum prawns are soo yummy. I love the Thai flavours of lemongrass, lime, fish sauce, galangal etc. I have been trying to infuse these sweet, sour and spicy flavours into my cooking, but of course, it’s nothing like the real thing.

Unfortunately, Thai food in Perth is quite pricey and definitely not as affordable or readily available as say Indonesion,Vietnamese or other South East Asian cuisine. So I was pretty happy when S & T opened up along the handy location of William Street, Northbridge and its menu included a range of affordable one-dish meals such as Pad Thai, or Red Curry with Rice for AUD$10 – $12.

I’ve heard Wendy say that they brought Xinlong and some friends to S & T and they were not impressed, especially disliking the small portions. So be forewarned, if you’re looking for giant portions of noodle/rice e.g. Taurus Hawker foods, this is not the place for you. Instead, if you’re looking for small/medium bowls of slightly sweet and spicy, coconut milk infused  flavourful green curry with rice (or in our case, noodles) for $10, then perhaps give S & T a try.

Their red curry with rice ($10) is more spicy than the green, but still deep flavours with nice tender chicken pieces. Good drenched with rice.

One thing I don’t like about S & T, the giant amounts of peas they put in their curries, the peas are rather hard and bitter, I’m not sure what they add to the curries, but we had to pick them all out and they pretty much too up the whole bowl. Also another recommendation for S & T, please beautify your menu, it’s messy and difficult to read, even ‘justify-ing’ the word document would make a huge difference.

I’ve since walked past S & T many times, and everytime it’s packed with Thai locals, so I’m assuming that’s a thumbs up for the authencity and flavour of its food? Personally I’m glad there’s an affordable Thai cafe where we can pop in for a taste of Thai under $15, so I hope it stays for a while.

Daitaoha ratings:

Food 6.5/10 daitaohas

Service 6/10 daitaohas

S&T Thai Gourmet Cafe

3/349 William Street Perth 6000

Tel: (08) 9328 8877

On another note,it’s the end of the weekend and I feel pretty miserable about the week ahead. I am trying my best to dish up some excitement, but truly, I feel like this ↓

6 Responses to “S & T Thai Gourmet Cafe”


  1. 1 slappedbygunk June 13, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    Oh those aren’t peas! They’re Thai pea eggplants so they’re actually eggplants that are bitter tasting. They’re called Ma-kuea Puang in Thai.

    • 2 daitaoha June 14, 2009 at 12:07 am

      Why are Thai eggplants so bitter? I only like normal eggplants I think, luckily you told me.

      • 3 slappedbygunk June 14, 2009 at 12:20 am

        Yeah I hate those eggplants too but they’re supposed to be bitter. Beats me why they’d put it in a dish knowing full well they’re bitter but maybe it’s an acquired taste?

      • 4 daitaoha June 14, 2009 at 12:25 am

        I don’t know, I usually pick them out because they load the curries with them. But maybe Thai people really like it?

  2. 5 Jo June 14, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    Hehehe! I did the same thing, picked out all the peas. It was terrible, so bitter. Yucks. I had to spit it out into a tissue paper.


Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Pages


